SSNAP Salt Spring National Art Prize 2017-06-07T09:49:54+00:00

Salt Spring National Art Prize

Salt Spring National Art Prize

Visit the SSNAP website.

Call for Submissions РSubmission Deadline May 31, 2017.

Apply Now

Subscribe to be Informed


Set in the stunning Salish Sea ecosphere and internationally renowned for its strong arts and crafts movement and creative enterprise, the island has established an enviable reputation as one of North America’s most highly regarded small arts communities.

To recognize, showcase and publicize the accomplishments of Canadian talent in the realms of 2 dimensional and 3 dimensional art, Salt Spring Island has establishing one of the very few national, juried competitions open to artists residing in Canada.

The intent of the Salt Spring National Art Prize (SSNAP) is to encourage artists whose practice demonstrates originality, quality, integrity and creativity, resulting in significant work with a real visual impact and depth of meaning.

An initiative of the Salt Spring Arts Council (SSAC), which represents the arts for British Columbia’s Southern Gulf Islands, the inaugural Salt Spring National Art Prize was held September through October 2015. The second SSNAP will be held September 22 – October 22, 2017.

This biennial competition promotes creative dialogue and collaboration between the Salt Spring Island arts community and artists from across Canada. This exciting endeavour has been made possible through the generous donations of our Sponsors and dedicated work of our volunteers.

SSNAP Website